The Big Chill

No, not the movie. I’m talking about the long hiatus between my last post and this one. Considering I haven’t done anything here to show for it, it’s actually been a pretty busy time for me.

First, just two days after my last post, I had carpal tunnel surgery on my right hand, which knocked me out of commission for a while. Then I had some more personal matters to attend to back home in South Carolina. Then I got busy on my day job, helping install a new front-end editing and design system.

And then my face froze. Well, half of it, to be exact. I developed Bell’s palsy, a temporary paralysis of the facial muscles that makes it pretty difficult to look through a camera to shoot photos.

But I’m getting back into the swing of things now. The paralysis is still there, but I’m getting used to it (as scary as that sounds). And I’m anxious to start back shooting.

I’ve been looking at a lot of photo-related web sites, Tumblr feeds and Facebook posts and cherrypicking little things from all of them that I want to combine and use to define my own style.

I really feel like my new year is just starting and I’m ready to start it out with a bang.

Leave a Reply

