Meet and greet followup

I got to meet some nice folks at the Birmingham Media Networking Group on Saturday night. I also learned a couple things:

1) Get a print book! Having the laptop was cool but the darned thing crashed AND I had to sit close to it instead of being able to walk around meeting people. If they didn’t come to me, I couldn’t really go to them, and that felt like a real disadvantage.

2) If your pics aren’t arty, models don’t want to party. I saw some really good portraiture overlooked by models who were drawn to showy, artistic work that sometimes wasn’t as good as the traditional samples.

3) It’s not what you know, it’s who you know. I knew this going in, but it was definitely reinforced in my mind that I need to network more.

Despite some technical issues, I have to say the meet and greet was a success for me, and I got to shoot a nice looking new model.

Leave a Reply

